The Courage to Create  I  Lisa Batiashvili, Violin
SAT, MAR 24, 2018 | 7PM

Schubert and Prokofiev always followed their hearts and their ears, even when the world misunderstood them. Schubert never had a symphony performed publicly in his lifetime, but he conjured masterful sounds in the “Unfinished” Symphony that he abandoned midway, inexplicably. Music from Rosamunde—one of his many failed attempts to break into the theater world—matches the intensity of the “Unfinished” Symphony, and may have actually begun as its finale. Prokofiev endured his own rejections during his years of exile in Europe, especially once he turned toward a self-described “new simplicity.” Heralded as “one of the world’s greatest violinists” by BBC Music Magazine, the Georgian violinist Lisa Batiashvili brings her insightful perspective to Prokofiev’s elegant Second Violin Concerto, a work steeped in the crosscurrents between Russia and the West.


SCHUBERT: Entr’acte No. 1 from Rosamunde
PROKOFIEV/CHIHARA: Schubert Waltzes Suite
SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 8 Unfinished
PROKOFIEV: Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 63

Get Tickets »

2018-19 Season at Carnegie Hall

Gentle Giants I Nobuyuki Tsujii, piano


The beloved Japanese pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii opens the season with a warm and intimate version of Chopin’s Second Piano Concerto featuring the Orpheus strings. This program of Gentle Giants also explores the spiritual ecstasy of Arvo Pärt and the sensitive artistry of Tchaikovsky, using expanded arrangements that amplify the ardent emotions.


Learn More »

Stars Aligned I Avi Avital, mandolin |

Ksenija Sidorova, accordion


In a night of Stars Aligned, Orpheus welcomes two innovative artists who are reinventing their time-honored instruments: Latvia’s Ksenija Sidorova on the accordion and Israel’s Avi Avital on the mandolin. From a novel rendition of Bach to a world premiere by Golden Globe®, GRAMMY® and Emmy® nominated composer Benjamin Wallfisch (Andy Muschietti’s ItBlade Runner 2049Hidden Figures), these trailblazing soloists showcase their enormous sonic spectrum. Evocative concert music from Waxman, Rota, and Rózsa attests to the skills that made these European immigrants early titans of Hollywood film scoring.


Learn More »

Homeward Sound I Javier Perianes, piano

Orpheus cozies up with the Homeward Sound of Mozart and Dvořák, featuring works that reflect their rich lives in Salzburg, Vienna and Prague. Since the ensemble’s earliest days, the piano concertos of Mozart have been a prime meeting ground for unforgettable collaborations; now Spanish pianist Javier Perianes follows such luminaries as Alfred Brendel, Radu Lupu, Richard Goode, and Emmanuel Ax. Contributing to the orchestra’s ongoing American Notes series, New York fixture James Matheson presents a new work commissioned by Orpheus.

Learn More »