Gentle Giants

Tchaikovsky bared his sensitive soul in the String Quartet No. 1, his first mature piece of chamber music; now Christopher Theofanidis, one of the most vivid orchestral composers alive, expands Tchaikovsky’s introspective essay into a radiant Chamber Symphony. Fratres by Estonia’s Arvo Pärt also marked a personal breakthrough, with Gregorian chant and church bells guiding this musical mystic toward radical new simplicity and spirituality. The beloved pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii joins Orpheus for a vibrant new orchestration of Chopin’s early Piano Concerto No. 2 by composer Shuying Li.


Nobuyuki Tsujii, Piano

PÄRT: Fratres
CHOPIN: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Minor, Op. 21 (arr. Shuying Li, Commissioned by Orpheus)
TCHAIKOVSKY: Chamber Symphony No. 1 in D Major (after String Quartet Op. 11b, arr. Christopher Theofanidis. Commissioned by Orpheus)


Works listed in red are part of Now Hear This, a new Orpheus initiative dedicated to re-imagining musical gems from the past with new orchestration!

Learn more about Gentle Giants | Nobuyuki Tsujii, Piano »

More upcoming performances

Orpheus on Tour- Tianjin, China

April 12, 2019 | 7:30PM
Tianjin Grand Theatre
Tianjin, China

Orpheus on Tour- Hong Kong

April 13, 2019 | 8:00PM
Hong Kong University
Hong Kong, China

Orpheus on Tour- Taichung, Taiwan

April 14, 2019 | 3:00PM
National Taichung Theatre
Taichung, Taiwan

Orpheus on Tour- Taipei, Taiwan

April 16, 2019 | 7:30PM
National Concert Hall Taipei
Taipei, Taiwan

Orpheus on Tour- Nagoya, Japan

April 18, 2019 | 6:45AM
Aichi Arts Center

« Back to calendar