Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
490 Riverside Drive, 11th floor
New York, NY 10027-5788

(212) 896 1700


Saint-Saëns I Cello Concerto No. 1 · Allegro Appassionato · Suite Op. 16 · The Swan

Mischa Maisky & Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, 1998

Mischa Maisky’s rich, velvety tone and brilliant technique give all the works here an arresting, memorable quality. ...the Orpheus players sound as passionately involved as the soloist...Duncan Druce, Gramophone


Featured Works

Saint-Saëns Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra No. 1 in A minor op. 33 R 193
Saint-Saëns Le carnaval des animaux (The Carnival of the Animals) R 125: No. 13 Le Cygne (The Swan, Arr. for Violoncello and Orchestra (Ensemble))
Saint-Saëns Allegro appassionato for Violoncello and Orchestra in B minor op. 43 R 194
Saint-Saëns Romance in F major for Horn (Violoncello) and Orchestra op. 36 R 195
Saint-Saëns Suite for Violoncello and Orchestra (Piano) in D minor op. 16bis R 211
Saint-Saëns Sonata for Violoncello and Piano No. 1 in C minor op. 32 R 118